The Byron Fire Protection District is governed by a five member Board of Trustees; each is elected by the residents of the District for a six (6) year term of office.

The members of the Board of Fire Commissioners are appointed by the Trustees. Responsibilities of the Commission include the hiring, promoting and discipline of sworn employees.